History Of The Club Name

In 1986 Güneş Sigorta Sports Club (Güneş Sigorta is an insurance company that has organised by VakıfBank in 1958) has established in İstanbul. Three years later, another sports club, named as VakıfBank Sports Club has established in Ankara by VakıfBank (a national bank of Turkey that is established in 1954). Nearly 10 years VakıfBank Ankara and Güneş Sigorta İstanbul competed in the Turkish major league.

Before 1999-2000 volleyball season this two clubs are revised, by this decision the clubs are named as Ankara VakıfBank Güneş Sigorta and VakıfBank Güneş Sigorta İstanbul. At that season the club, located in Ankara, was withdrawn from the major league and continued to its way in second league until it is shutdown in 2012.

The club, located in İstanbul, signed a name sponsorship contract with Türk Telekom for three seasons in 2009. At the end, before 2012-2013 volleyball season the team is just named as VakıfBank.

Leader Club of the World 

From the first day to today, VakıfBank continue to challenge in the major league of Turkey. The yellow-black team is one of the most successful sports club of its country. The “Turkish Dragons” reached a lot of national and international achievement and has broken so many grounds.

With 3 FIVB Club World Championship, 4 CEV Champions League, 1 Top Teams Cup and 1 Challenge Cup trophies, VakıfBank is “The most international trophy holder of Turkey”.

With 2011, 2013, 2017 and 2018 CEV Champions League trophies, VakıfBank is “The first and the most Champions League trophy holder of Turkey”.

Beside these, by winning of 73 victories in all national and international competitions in a row from 23 October 2012 to 22 January 2014, VakıfBank has settled in the Guinness World Records. Also in 2013 VakıfBank succeed to win every trophies as undefeated.

Here Are The Achievements Of VakıfBank Sports Club

  • FIVB Club World Championship (2013, 2017, 2018)
  • CEV Champions League (2011, 2013, 2017, 2018)
  • Turkish League (1992, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2004, 2005, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2018)
  • Turkish Cup (1995, 1997, 1998, 2013, 2014, 2017)
  • Turkish Super Cup (2013, 2014, 2017)
  • CEV Challenge Cup (2008)
  • FIVB Club World Championship – 2nd rank (2011)
  • FIVB Club World Championship – 3rd rank (2016)
  • CEV Champions League – 2nd rank (2014, 2016)
  • CEV Champions League – 3rd rank (2015)
  • CEV Champion Women Club – 2nd rank (1998, 1999)
  • CEV Cup- 3rd rank (2000)
  • The European Confederations Cup Third place (2000)
  • European Cup Semi-Finals (1999)